2011 ANZIA Judging Panel Announced

Posted by Jenelle Backman on 30 August 2011

With the 2011 ANZIA entry round closing tomorrow, auDA staff and our Kiwi counterparts are busy sorting through applications and answering inquiries for what will be the biggest round of awards to date. After receiving over 150 registrations for the ANZIAs this year it is going to be a tough job to determine the winners but who better to meet this challenge than our accomplished judging panel:

Miwa Fujii - APNIC
Murray Milner - Convener of the New Zealand IPv6 Task Force

Greg Thom - Technology Reporter, Herald Sun
Lance Wiggs - ICT Consultant, NZ

Brendan Fitzgerald - VicNet Manager, State Library of Victoria
Penny Carnaby  - Former National Librarian New Zealand

Internet Access and Digital Skills
Derek Whitehead, Swinburne University of Technology
Antony Royal, ICT Consultant, NZ

Rebecca Gerrett-Magee - Lecturer, Moondani Balluk, Victoria University
Richard Orzecki - Chair of the Maori Internet Society, NZ

Security and Privacy
Martin Cocker - Executive Director, Netsafe New Zealand
Colin Bradley - Chief Security Officer, CISCO APAC Borderless Network Team

The panel will convene throughout September to decide on the winning entries with results announced at a gala dinner in Melbourne on 17 October 2011. Under the guidance of MC Alan Brough, the gala will feature a keynote speech from former High Court Justice Michael Kirby, drawing together Internet industry stakeholders from across Australia and New Zealand.

Entries will close tomorrow on Wednesday 31st of August at 5pm AEST. To obtain an entry form or for more information visit: www.internetawards.org.au or email info@internetawards.org.au