Registrations of interest now open for the Australia and New Zealand Internet Awards 2012

Posted by Leonie Dunbar on 13 April 2012

All of us at auDA are delighted to announce the launch of the Australia and New Zealand Internet Awards (the ANZIAs) for 2012.  This will be the fourth year where we celebrate the achievements of organisations, businesses and individuals that have made significant contributions to the development and use of the Internet in Australia and New Zealand.


Registrations of interest are now open at When you register your interest you will receive a registration pack which will provide all the details you need to know on how to enter. Applications will open on 1st June and close on 31st July.  This year we will announce the winners at a gala dinner in Canberra on the 10th of October.

Whilst the location of the ANZIA gala dinner is different this year, we have retained the same Award categories as last year, as InternetNZ Chief Executive Vikram Kumar says "The six ANZIA categories cover all facets of the global Internet, from the highly-technical to the cultural, humanistic and innovative.”

auDA CEO Chris Disspain echoed Mr. Kumar, saying “the ANZIA awards distinguish the premier businesses, individuals and organizations in Australia and New Zealand that use the internet to enrich the lives of others and advance the cause of using the internet in positive and inventive ways.”

The six ANZIA categories are:

  • Security and privacy
  • Internet access & digital skills
  • Innovation
  • Information
  • Diversity
  • IPv6

The Awards also offer winners public and industry exposure, positive media coverage, networking opportunities, recognition of hard work for staff and volunteers and with winners receiving a $AUD2500 cash prize.

For more information please email