auDA and InternetNZ unveil a new look Internet awards program for 2016

Posted by on 29 January 2016

New year, new ANZIAs! The Australia and New Zealand Internet Awards (ANZIAs) have opened for 2016 entries with an exciting transformation - new categories, new judges and a new logo.

The official relaunch is in Melbourne at Above All Human on 29 January, Australia's leading start-up and tech conference, which will provide a fitting stage for the new-look ANZIAs given their mutual support for innovation on the Internet. 

This year, auDA and InternetNZ, who run the annual awards program together, have reviewed all the categories and introduced a Tech Startup Award.

The Tech Startup Award will celebrate unique ventures that promote Internet-related technologies or markets. The award is supported by Fishburners - Australia's largest startup co-working space.

For the first time, all winners – both not-for-profit and commercial bodies – will be awarded a $2500AUD cash prize.

Chris Disspain, CEO of auDA, said “auDA is excited to relaunch the new-look ANZIAs and offer prize money to all winners, including tech startups, who we are pleased to support with the new category.  We also welcome a talented and knowledgeable multi-sector judging panel.

“Since its inception eight years ago, we have regularly reviewed the ANZIA program to assure it reflects the fast moving tech sector we work within. 2016 will see some of the biggest changes to date and we hope the greatest number of high calibre applicants, from all our stakeholder groups."

Jordan Carter, Chief Executive of InternetNZ said, “New Zealanders in the tech space should carefully consider how they can take part in the ANZIAs. 

"The awards are a great opportunity to showcase and promote your work and they provide a great platform to get well-earned recognition.”

Graham McDonald will be returning as the 2016 ANZIA chief judge, and joining him for the first time will be Denis Moriarty – Group Managing Director, Our Community, Vanisa Dhiru – Executive Director of the 2020 Trust and Alan Dee from Fishburners.

The six ANZIA categories for 2016 are:

  • Security Award, supported by AusRegistry
  • Diversity & Digital Skills Award
  • Innovation Award
  • Tech Startup Award, supported by Fishburners
  • Information Award
  • The Leonie Dunbar Memorial Award for Community Websites

Enter now at Entries close on Monday 10 June 2016.

Winners will be announced at a gala dinner in Melbourne, Tuesday 30 August 2016.

For updates on the ANZIAs, like us on Facebook and follow us on Instagram or go to our website and register for news