Letter from the Chair: New Demand Class Directors

Posted by auDA on 11 May 2018

Dear auDA Members and Stakeholders,

It is my great pleasure to advise you that earlier today the auDA Board concluded the formalities to appoint three new Demand Class directors:

Holly Raiche
Widely acknowledged as a leader in internet governance and in multi-stakeholder consultations. Holly has been a Demand Class member since April 2012.

Holly's term expires at the 2019 AGM.

Damian Smith
A successful digital business leader and entrepreneur. Damian has applied to become a Demand Class member.

Damian's term expires at the 2018 AGM.

Nigel Phair
One of Australia’s leading experts in cyber‑security, cyber‑crime, and cyber‑ethics. Nigel has been a Demand Class member since February 2018.

Nigel's term expires at the 2019 AGM.

I would also like to take this opportunity to thank Sandra Hook, an independent director and Chair of auDA’s Governance Committee, who jointly led the recruitment process with Tim Connell (Demand Class director).

The process started with advertising across a broad range of stakeholder groups which resulted in 30 high‑calibre nominations.

The short-listed candidates participated in a series of interviews, reference checking, and probity checking (ASIC, police, professional). Importantly, the whole board participated in a skills‑matrix analysis to identify the optimal skills and experience for the new directors.

Sandra and Tim were well supported throughout this extensive process by directors Erhan Karabardak and Grant Wiltshire, and Hasaka Martin (Company Secretary).

Please join me in welcoming our new directors. 

Chris Leptos AM
Independent Chair
.au Domain Administration Limited