.au Domain Administration Limited

Annual General Meeting 2015


Monday 30 November 2015, 4.30pm

Trilogy Room, Park Hyatt, 1 Parliament Square, Melbourne


Chair:                    Tony Staley  

Secretary:             Jo Lim


Present:                Chris Disspain, Erhan Karabardak, George Pongas, Graham McDonald, Joe Manariti, Josh Rowe, Julie Hammer, Kartic Srinivasan, Paul Levins, Simon Johnson, Stuart Benjamin


Apologies:             Nil



Attendees:            Adrian Kinderis, Barbra Fong, Bruce Tonkin, Chris Chaundy, David Thompson, Derek Whitehead, Desleigh Jameson, Emil Andonov, George Fong, Grant Wiltshire, Helen Hollins (auDA), Holly Raiche, Jacki O'Sullivan (auDA - minutes), James Deck, John Anderton, John Graham, John Higgins, John Nugent, Jonathan Horne, Kimberley Heitman, Marty Drill, Miguel Wood, Ned O'Meara, Peter Mead, Phil Temperly, Philip Parker, Rob Gregory, Simon Delzoppo, Tristan Lostroh



Introduction and Welcome by the Chair.


Motion (moved T Staley, seconded M Drill): The Notice of AGM is to be taken as read.  Carried.


Quorum (24 members) present. Meeting declared open.


The Secretary advised that 76 proxies were received: 18 Supply Class, 58 Demand Class.



  1. 1.   2014 Minutes


Motion (moved T Staley, seconded M Drill): Approve the minutes of the 27 October 2014 AGM.


Votes (by proxy and in person)

Supply Class:        For – 21

                             Against – 0

Demand Class:      For – 79

                             Against – 0


Carried in both classes.



2. Report from the Chair on auDA Activities and Progress


The CEO delivered a summary of auDA activities and progress since the last AGM.  On behalf of the Board, the CEO thanked Derek Whitehead for his work as Chair of the 2015 Names Policy Panel.



3. 2014-2015 Audited Accounts


Motion (moved T Staley, seconded D Thompson): Accept the 2014-2015 audited accounts. 


Votes (by proxy and in person)

Supply Class:        For – 21

                             Against – 0

Demand Class:      For – 79

                             Against – 0


Carried in both classes.



4. Resignation from Board of Retiring Directors.


Paul Levins (Demand), George Pongas (Supply), Joshua Rowe (Demand) and Kartic Srinivasan (Supply) resigned from the Board.


The Chair thanked the retiring Directors for their active participation and significant service on the Board over the past 2 years.



5. Election of new Directors to the Board.


Election supervised by John Higgins of Moore Stephens and Rob Gregory of Maddocks Lawyers.


a. Supply Class (2 positions)


Nominees:  Gavin Collins, James Deck, George Pongas and Kartic Srinivasan.


Votes (by proxy and in person)

Gavin Collins – 3 votes

James Deck – 4 votes

George Pongas – 18 votes

Kartic Srinivasan – 17 votes


Elected:    George Pongas and Kartic Srinivasan


b. Demand Class (2 positions)


Nominees: Paul Levins, Holly Raiche, Joshua Rowe, Grant Wiltshire and Miguel Wood.


Votes (by proxy and in person)

Paul Levins – 15 votes

Holly Raiche – 11 votes

Joshua Rowe – 16 votes

Grant Wiltshire – 48 votes

Miguel Wood – 60 votes


Elected:    Grant Wiltshire and Miguel Wood


The Board thanked and encouraged those nominees who were unsuccessful at this time to consider re-standing for the Board and policy panels in the future.



6. Other Business


There was no other business



7. Close of Business


The meeting was closed at 4.57pm


Member questions were received and general discussions held on the following topics:

  • Possible initiatives to increase the auDA membership base.
  • Consultation with registrants and other users about potential changes resulting from the 2015 Names Policy Panel process.