Board Minutes - 23 November 2006

Public Version
Meeting of the .au Domain Administration Board

23 November 2005 - 1.00pm
Maddocks. Angel Place, 123 Pitt Street. Sydney NSW 2000

Greg Crew, Roger Dean, Chris Disspain, Marty Drill, Brett Fenton, David Goldstein, Kim Heitman, Cheryl Langdon-Orr, Jo Lim, Bennett Oprysa, Josh Rowe, Peter Shilling and Tony Staley

Craig Ng (Maddocks), John Higgins (Hayes Knight), Don Williams (DCITA) and Paul Szyndler (DCITA)


1. Welcome New Directors
The board welcomed new director Marty Drill.

2. Vote of Thanks to Retiring Directors
Motion (proposed GC, seconded KH): That the board give a formal vote of thanks to GW for his brilliant contribution to auDA’s work and the development of the Australian DNS. Carried.

Action: Board to send a formal letter of thanks to GW.

3. Continuous Disclosure
MD is a director of Domain Candy Pty Ltd, an auDA accredited registrar, and Get Started Pty Ltd, a reseller of Domain Candy.

4. Election of Chair
TS was elected Chair unopposed.

5. Election of Deputy Chair

KH was elected Deputy Chair unopposed.

6. Appointment of Board Committees

Finance and Audit Committee: GC, CD, KH, CLO, BO, PS. The purpose of the committee is to review and recommend accounts to the board.

Strategic Planning Committee: RD, CD, MD, BF, DG, JR. The purpose of the committee is to assist the CEO with the development of auDA’s 5 year strategic plan.

7. Confirmation of Minutes

The minutes of the 9 October 2006 meeting were confirmed.
8. Policy

• Name Policy Advisory Panel
The board discussed the selection process for Panel membership. auDA will issue an open call for Panel nominations. Nominations will be shortlisted by auDA staff and the Panel chair, and the board will make final appointments. Concerns were raised about the potential for supply side members to be outnumbered by demand side members on the Panel, because “demand” encompasses a broader set of stakeholders (ie. government, law enforcement, intellectual property lawyers as well as consumer and user groups). The board noted that previous Panels have operated according to consensus-building principles as opposed to formal voting. It was also noted that the Panel must undertake public consultation, which provides further opportunity for supply side members to garner support for their views. However, the board acknowledged the concerns and undertook to take them into consideration when making appointments to the Panel.

Action: Board to confirm Panel terms of reference and membership at the February 2007 board meeting.

9. Membership

The members below were approved in the classes indicated:

Shaun Ewing (demand)
Stewart Carter (demand)
Griffith Hack (demand)
Kimachi Group (supply)
Spirit Connect Pty Ltd (supply)
Blinddog Hosting (supply)

10. Board Correspondence

No correspondence was received.

12. 2007 Meeting Schedule

Monday 12 February – Melbourne
Tuesday 10 April – Melbourne
Tuesday 12 June – Sydney
Monday 13 August – Sydney
Monday 8 October – Melbourne

Board meetings start at 10.30am.